Meru County contacts
Meru County contacts

Meru County is found along the eastern side of the Mt Kenya ring road. The county adjoins Isiolo county to the North, Nyeri county to the South West, Laikipia county to the West and Tharaka-Nithi county to the South West. It spreads over an area of 6,936 square kilometres and is based 225 kilometres northeast of Nairobi City.

Meru County is the haven of the Imenti, Tigania and Igembe sub-tribes of the Ameru (or Meru) tribe, which is linked to other tribes living around the central Mount Kenya region: the Kikuyu and the Embu people. The residents of Meru County are now predominantly Christian: Methodist, Presbyterian, Roman Catholic, and other beliefs, reflecting the work of missionaries. Meru County is likewise home to minorities of Indian origin, who are mainly Hindus, and African/Arab descent, who are Muslims in faith. Meru County is also home to some Westerners, predominantly British in heritage.

This county headquarters is in Meru town. The County has seven constituencies: Igembe North Constituency, South Imenti, Central Imenti, North Imenti, Igembe South Constituency, Tigania West Constituency, Tigania East Constituency and the proposed Buuri Constituency.

Meru County contacts

Physical Office location: Meru Town

Telephone contacts:0775501502

Official Twitter page:@MeruCountyGovt@Meru_Assembly@PeterMunya

Official Facebook page: Peter Munya

Email address:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here